Sharky Forums

Sharky Forums (http://www.sharkyforums.com/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.sharkyforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   6.8GHZ Lappy with 2TB Hard drive (http://www.sharkyforums.com/showthread.php?t=273728)

taggart6 09-07-2005 04:09 PM

6.8GHZ Lappy with 2TB Hard drive
 
Another micheal's or is it the real deal?

http://atomchip.com/_wsn/page4.html

Did a search on sharky's and couldn't find any mention of this so I thought I's post it for you all.

If its legit I wouldn;t mind grabbing me a nice commerical solid state lappy!!!

eshbach 09-07-2005 04:13 PM

Quote:

Memory: 1TB Quantum-Optical non-volatile RAM (NvIOpSRAM-SODIMM 200-pin)
it's totally fake.

windows definately does not support 1 TB of RAM.

Kappa2001 09-07-2005 04:14 PM

that non-volatile cracks me up :D

taggart6 09-07-2005 04:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eshbach
it's totally fake.

windows definately does not support 1 TB of RAM.


hmm...they had a picture of the windows system properties screen dispaying the 6.8GHz and 1TB of RAM. If any one has room to host them I'm willing to share. :D

EDIT: It looks like they are planning to display the sucker in CES '06.

Soul Assassin 09-07-2005 04:31 PM

Maybe someone who speaks German can translate this page:
http://www.zdnet.de/news/hardware/0,...2092725,00.htm

Also, http://acqp.physi.uni-heidelberg.de/

Not sure how they are getting 1TB of RAM but the processor seems plausible. Not sure how they are running Windows on it unless it's emulating x86.

SkyDog 09-07-2005 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by taggart6
hmm...they had a picture of the windows system properties screen dispaying the 6.8GHz and 1TB of RAM. If any one has room to host them I'm willing to share.

Give me an image editor and about a minute, and I can give you a picture of a 64 exahertz processor with a yottabyte of RAM. It's sooooo easy to doctor screenshots.

SplinterFaction 09-07-2005 04:36 PM

XP pro only supports two processors and up to 4GB of ram, totally fake.

SF

Soul Assassin 09-07-2005 04:37 PM

It's not quite as easy to doctor CES registration: http://cesweb.org/attendees/show_flo...sp?prodid=5421

1TB of RAM - "The expected seling price.is $6000 ."

Not a bad price but NV-QOSRAM would have to be supported first.

taggart6 09-07-2005 04:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SkyDog
Give me an image editor and about a minute, and I can give you a picture of a 64 exahertz processor with a yottabyte of RAM. It's sooooo easy to doctor screenshots.


No doubt, although I thought it was strange how the pics just suddenly disappeared from teh website. I figured if anyone wanted a good life I could post them up.

eshbach 09-07-2005 04:53 PM

actually almost anyone can register for CES. i have a friend with a one-man company who has registered...

Soul Assassin 09-07-2005 05:10 PM

It's not a matter of difficulty, it's a matter of money. How much money is someone going to pony up for a hoax? Also, given that ZDNet covered it and it's being created at a German university, I have a hard time believing it's 100% fake.

irwincur 09-07-2005 07:10 PM

It is fake as hell... Trust me.

mynameis 09-07-2005 08:55 PM

Fake

stonez 09-07-2005 09:17 PM

is the inquirer falling behind! Quick tbird, to the rumormobile.. nah nah nah nah nah nah nah Fakeman!!! FAKEMAN, FAKE, MAN!

r'aggro 09-07-2005 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SkyDog
I can give you a picture of a 64 exahertz processor with a yottabyte of RAM.


Sounds good! So much for bottlenecking the gpu. ;)

MrDigital 09-08-2005 01:14 AM

I'm curious as to why a bunch of you think it's fake. The technology has been around for years. Does everyone think that atom chips are fake just because they don't understand the technology?

EDIT: Don't get me wrong, the site looks fake and cheesy. But the technology behind it is legit.

-MrD

taggart6 09-08-2005 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrDigital
I'm curious as to why a bunch of you think it's fake. The technology has been around for years. Does everyone think that atom chips are fake just because they don't understand the technology?

EDIT: Don't get me wrong, the site looks fake and cheesy. But the technology behind it is legit.

-MrD

I'm 50/50 right now mostley beacuse I know bit about the solid state technology (use to be a nanofab tech) and I know of some research groups which have done something similar in terms of soild state memory.

However, I'm a bit skeptical beacuse no one else seems to be talking about it or discussing it. That says to me that either this info is really really new, or that its mostly likely vaporware.

As of now, I'm thinking that atomchip might be a legit start-up company which is looking to get more catpial inorder to really enter the comsumer market.

SaturnBeat 09-08-2005 10:37 AM

I'm sure it would've hit the big news agency pages as well. If it hasn't, means no one trusts this, means it's fake!

Soul Assassin 09-08-2005 02:34 PM

When was the last time a minor scientific discovery that impacts next to no one (without software support) was reported on by a big news agency? Besides, isn't ZDNet a big news agency (for technology at least)?

How about Europhysics News? http://www.europhysicsnews.com/full/.../article3.html

Note the final paragraph:
Quote:

In the near future we can expect that a wide range of atom-optical elements will be integrated onto a single chip. An important next step will be to integrate optical fibres and microcavities into atom chips [11]. These will make it possible to prepare and detect individual atoms in specific quantum states so that they can form the basis of quantum logic gates.
That article was written in 2002. Isn't it plausible that by 2005 someone has figured out how to do the quantum logic gates?

taggart6 09-08-2005 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soul Assassin
That article was written in 2002. Isn't it plausible that by 2005 someone has figured out how to do the quantum logic gates?



The question isn't whether they can do it, but rathe can they do it at a large production level.

I know from personal experiance that many resreach groups are out there with working models. The problems is that the models are "lab prototypes" which took millions of dollars and a great deal of time and care to create.

Form the webpage, it looks like Atmochip is inplying that are close to being production ready. Granted many start-ups have made similiar claims only to fail in teh end due to lack of funds, legal problems, under estimating deadlines, and etc.

irwincur 09-08-2005 02:58 PM

If a company has indeed figured out how to 1. get this done and 2. get something to market, I am sure that their budget would have more in it than that half assed website above.

Sure, it may be possible but it is basically just leaving the realm of theory and creeping into the world of reality - even then, it will be quite a long time before it makes it into homes and businesses. To believe this project would be to make a large leap of faith and to actually believe that a no name company has done what other large research labs have been striving for.

Soul Assassin 09-08-2005 03:12 PM

As far as I know, the company isn't a 'no name'. It's just the for-profit entity created by the university or the researchers to market the product. Similar to how Cisco was created out of Stanford labs. A good number of the more successful tech/science companies start from the research labs at some university.

There are probably 1:1000 odds that the product will come to market but that still doesn't make it fake. It simply makes it either vaporware or hype.

PCJ 09-08-2005 03:19 PM

It's real. I read the german pages, but I can't really translate them since I don't know the technology behind it.

I don't care about the CPU too much, but 2tb of storage in the size of a CF card gives me an erection. Not really, but almost.

s1203372 09-08-2005 03:25 PM

It's fake. Let me list a lot of reasons:

1. The "Terabyte memory cards" are stickers on compact flash cards put into compact flash to IDE converters. You can read the IDEX1 on the silkscreen still.
2. Pentium M has no 2-way, let alone 4-way chipsets available.
3. Their "6.8 GHz Quantum-Optical CPU" is nonsensical - why do they have lenses? Any chip trying to process light efficiently would be using a bonded fiber taper. Lenses are hugely inefficient. Why are the lenses pointing at the inside of the package? Not going to be recieving much there... Next, why are optics involved at all? Most current quantum computing schemes use quantum teleportation to move information - there is no bus. Next, 6.8 GHz - quantum computing actually occurs much SLOWER than classic computing, you just need many fewer steps to get to the same goal. So how are they going way faster? Then again, why is there a clock at all since there is no clock in quantum logic? Here's a few articles on quantum computing from a reliable source.
http://www.eetimes.com/news/latest/s...leID=159901551
http://www.eetimes.com/news/latest/s...cleID=18309007
http://www.eetimes.com/news/latest/s...cleID=60404988
http://www.eetimes.com/news/latest/s...cleID=20000142

4. There is no way to address 1 TB of RAM in XP.
5. Does the quantum-optical processor somehow run the x86 instruction set?

s1203372 09-08-2005 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrDigital
I'm curious as to why a bunch of you think it's fake. The technology has been around for years. Does everyone think that atom chips are fake just because they don't understand the technology?

EDIT: Don't get me wrong, the site looks fake and cheesy. But the technology behind it is legit.

-MrD

What exactly are you talking about when you reference "atom chips"? Quantum logic gates? Nanoscale storage devices? Neither of those have anything to do with the crap on that site.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.