how to disable Vsync on Radeon?

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: how to disable Vsync on Radeon?

  1. #1
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    45

    how to disable Vsync on Radeon?

    i've looked everywhere
    installed Catayst Control center..
    the new one and the old one..
    and ATI control panel
    EVERYTHING
    but i can't find Vsync
    anyone have idea?

  2. #2
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Adelaide Sth Australia
    Posts
    6,829
    It should be under the OpenGL and D3D tabs in display properties.
    Instead if just "Vsync" it's called "Wait for vertical sync".
    Q6600 (GO), Zalman CNPS 9700, Gigabyte P35-DS3P, 4G Kingston 6400 C5, Leadtek PX 8800 GT ZL (650/1800)
    2x WD 500GB SATA, ASUS + Pioneer DVRW, Antec Sonata lll case, Samsung 226BW 22"LCD, Logitech X540 7.1 speakers, Logitech G5 mouse

    3GHz(9x333), stock Vcore, stock cooler
    3.2GHz(8x400), +0.050vcore (gaming, 24/7)
    3.6GHz(9x400), +0.150vcore (3DMark01 60769)
    3.8GHz(9x422), 1.5v min(set) (3d01 62926, 3d03 42285, Crysis High 1680x1050 34fps) Ouch! She’s hot!

  3. #3
    Bearded Kirklander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11,814
    Display Properties > Settings > Advanced > 3D

    Then choose D3D and Custom and set it to ALWAYS OFF

    Repeat that for OpenGL and click the Apply and OK buttons and you should be good to go.

    If you use Rad Linker, you can set Vsync on a per game basis.

    http://www28.brinkster.com/chrisww1942/

    Good stuff.
    Last edited by Bearded Kirklander; 03-19-2005 at 11:46 PM.

  4. #4
    Hammerhead Shark Dantopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    1,039
    If you're using Catalyst Control Center, I found it under 3D > No Preview > wait for vertical refresh. You may have to scroll the bottom panel a bit.

    Appears to affect both OpenGL and DirectX
    Last edited by Dantopia; 03-20-2005 at 10:39 AM.

    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Clawhammer | Asus K8V Deluxe | 2 x Kingston 512 MB | Leadtek GeForce 6800GT 256 MB | Seagate 160 GB SATA | Antec Truepower 430 | Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070sb 21" | Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum

  5. #5
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    45
    thanks for the info guys!
    last question
    set wait for vertical refresh to max performance? or quality?
    i assume itz performance?
    but ur pic shows quality?

  6. #6
    Hammerhead Shark Dantopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    1,039
    Originally posted by Setokun
    thanks for the info guys!
    last question
    set wait for vertical refresh to max performance? or quality?
    i assume itz performance?
    but ur pic shows quality?
    I keep it enabled because I prefer the quality of the picture... you'd want to select "performance" to disable it.

    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Clawhammer | Asus K8V Deluxe | 2 x Kingston 512 MB | Leadtek GeForce 6800GT 256 MB | Seagate 160 GB SATA | Antec Truepower 430 | Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070sb 21" | Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum

  7. #7
    The Professional Mod vertices's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL
    Posts
    5,998
    Originally posted by Dantopia
    I keep it enabled because I prefer the quality of the picture... you'd want to select "performance" to disable it.
    Yup....I hate running without Vsync. Tearing sucks.

  8. #8
    Great White Shark Vengance_01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Moreno valley,CA
    Posts
    5,911
    I agree. But most of the time I just use reforce and then leave it applaction select in the controll pannel as some games need while others don't.
    Updated 12/27/05

    A64 Desktop Rig
    DC Opteron 165@2.7GHZ
    1GB UTT@245FSB 2/2/2/7
    X1800XT 512MB @PE Speeds
    19" Viewsonic WS LCD
    2x160GB ATA HDs
    NEC 3550 DL-DVD Burner

    12.1 Ibook G3
    256MB Ram
    30GB

  9. #9
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Adelaide Sth Australia
    Posts
    6,829
    Originally posted by Setokun
    thanks for the info guys!
    last question
    set wait for vertical refresh to max performance? or quality?
    i assume itz performance?
    but ur pic shows quality?
    To turn Vsync off set to performance.
    Q6600 (GO), Zalman CNPS 9700, Gigabyte P35-DS3P, 4G Kingston 6400 C5, Leadtek PX 8800 GT ZL (650/1800)
    2x WD 500GB SATA, ASUS + Pioneer DVRW, Antec Sonata lll case, Samsung 226BW 22"LCD, Logitech X540 7.1 speakers, Logitech G5 mouse

    3GHz(9x333), stock Vcore, stock cooler
    3.2GHz(8x400), +0.050vcore (gaming, 24/7)
    3.6GHz(9x400), +0.150vcore (3DMark01 60769)
    3.8GHz(9x422), 1.5v min(set) (3d01 62926, 3d03 42285, Crysis High 1680x1050 34fps) Ouch! She’s hot!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •