The RPC server is unavailable!

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: The RPC server is unavailable!

  1. #1
    Tiger Shark Ubon94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Outlaws game lobby
    Posts
    682

    The RPC server is unavailable!

    I'm in Computer Management and I clicked on Disk management this error message popped " The RPC server is unavailable!" I noticed the computer is running slow than normal. I checked taskmanager to see if there are any virus programs running in the background, but there are none. The system Idle at 99% of cpu usage. There are no any other programs is using the cpu.

    What cause this and how can I fix it?
    Make it Simple

  2. #2
    Hammerhead Shark Soul Assassin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Heartbreak Hill
    Posts
    2,366
    Something killed the RPC service. You can try to restart it under the Services tool, but usually you need to reboot to get it to come back up.

    Viruses such as Blaster attack the RPC service, so you might want to double-check that you have all the latest updates.

    You can also change the RPC service so that it restarts on failure, but that's not really going to solve the problem since something is causing it to fail.

    The computer is running slow because Windows completely depends on the RPC service.
    "The reasonable man adapts himself to the conditions that surround him... The unreasonable man adapts surrounding conditions to himself... All progress depends on the unreasonable man."

  3. #3
    Tiger Shark Ubon94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Outlaws game lobby
    Posts
    682
    The RPC server was set to come on automatic
    I tried launching it with net start rpcss, and I've got no luck.
    Make it Simple

  4. #4
    Tiger Shark Ubon94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Outlaws game lobby
    Posts
    682
    Ok, it's was set to come on automatic but it didn't. When I tried to launch it manually, it gave me an error " Microsoft management console could not start the remote procedure call (rpc) on local computer. Error 2: the system cannot find the file specified.

    What can I do to get the file back?
    Last edited by Ubon94; 12-13-2005 at 05:13 PM.
    Make it Simple

  5. #5
    Hammerhead Shark Geforce255's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona , CA
    Posts
    1,957
    Try running system file check.

    Put the XP CD in the drive.

    Open a command window and type sfc /scannow
    RIG:
    XCLIO 2000 Black & Titanium Case
    KingWin Gold Certified 80+ 1000 Watt PS
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium Motherboard
    Intel Core I7 3770K @ 5.0 gHz
    Corsair CWCH70 Hydro Series H80 CPU Liquid Cooler
    CORSAIR Vengence 16GB
    PowerColor Radeon 7990 6GB
    OCZ Vertex 3 SATA 3 SSD
    1TB WD Black Edition SATA 3 + 3TB Seagate SATA 3
    Panasonic DVD
    Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 bit

  6. #6
    Tiger Shark Ubon94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Outlaws game lobby
    Posts
    682
    It's in progess.. It's going very very slow..
    Make it Simple

  7. #7
    Tiger Shark Ubon94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Outlaws game lobby
    Posts
    682
    I came in this morning; sfc /scannow was finished and I rebooted the system. The problem remain.
    Make it Simple

  8. #8
    Tiger Shark Ubon94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Outlaws game lobby
    Posts
    682
    Well, it turns out my primary hard drive that has Operating System on it, is not healthy. It had some bad sectors, and caused curruptions to Windows files.
    Make it Simple

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •