Rewiring Headphone plugs.

Sharky Forums


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Rewiring Headphone plugs.

  1. #1
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374

    Rewiring Headphone plugs.

    Okay, I'll be honest. Im generally very boisterous with my headphones. Tugging and pulling and stuff. So they fail on me quite often. Today I discovered that my left channel on my AKG 26Ps just died. Now I have troubleshooted the connection. The wire on the left channel has broken off from the headphone jack. How do I fix this ? What replacement should I look for.

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

  2. #2
    Sleeps with the Fishes talldude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The North
    Posts
    9,440
    Quote Originally Posted by Transfurzz
    Okay, I'll be honest. Im generally very boisterous with my headphones. Tugging and pulling and stuff. So they fail on me quite often. Today I discovered that my left channel on my AKG 26Ps just died. Now I have troubleshooted the connection. The wire on the left channel has broken off from the headphone jack. How do I fix this ? What replacement should I look for.
    A soldering iron + solder and you're set.

  3. #3
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374
    Quote Originally Posted by talldude
    A soldering iron + solder and you're set.
    Damn, I better ask my ********ic Prototyping lab overseer for some help. I haven't even done my first soldering practical yet.
    Last edited by Transfurzz; 05-25-2006 at 08:50 AM.

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

  4. #4
    Sleeps with the Fishes talldude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The North
    Posts
    9,440
    ah, it's real easy...read up on the net on proper form, practice on some spare wires, and you're set.

  5. #5
    Mako Shark Nater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Crawfordsville Indiana
    Posts
    3,206
    Make sure to put heatshrink over the soldered connection, it really helps out in the durability department. Also, don't be like me, slip on the heatshrink BEFORE you solder the wires. You'd think I'd stop doing that...

  6. #6
    Hammerhead Shark Candyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    1,386
    All the soldering tips you need in one convenient place. Tangent rocks my world.
    Core 2 Duo 6750
    Antec P182
    Abit IP35 Pro
    4 GB DDR2 800 RAM
    Asus Xonar D2
    Panasonic SA-XR55 / Audio Technica ATH-A900

  7. #7
    Great White Shark thrawn86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Auburn Univ.
    Posts
    5,023
    and don't forget to check those channels with the multimeter BEFORE you've soldered and definitely BEFORE screwing the plug chassis back on. Not that its really a big deal for music, but still. Everybody will do it once
    AM2 Windsor 2.4ghz -> Asus M2N-E/ 2048mb G.Skill ddr2800 -> Sapphire x1800xt
    A2 Plat eX -->Canare Cables/Pimeta --> AudioTechnica ATH-A500 & Ety ER-6
    Infinity Primus 150 w/ Datyon 10" sub


    _____________________________
    Join the Sharky Folding@Home Team!

    Sharky's Extreme 3dmark Team

  8. #8
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374
    Quote Originally Posted by thrawn86
    and don't forget to check those channels with the multimeter BEFORE you've soldered and definitely BEFORE screwing the plug chassis back on. Not that its really a big deal for music, but still. Everybody will do it once
    I just run it through on Ammeter mode right ? Connect the negative to ground ?

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

  9. #9
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374
    Quote Originally Posted by talldude
    ah, it's real easy...read up on the net on proper form, practice on some spare wires, and you're set.

    Better bring some band-aid. Either way I don't have solder, my school has both solder and a digital multimeter. So that should work perfectly. Is it advisable to get a portable multimeter in this line of work ? Computer Engineering to be exact.

    Quote Originally Posted by Candyman
    All the soldering tips you need in one convenient place. Tangent rocks my world.
    Thanks for that. Gonna bookmark it and try my hand at it after my next practical. I do have a soldering iron if you guys are inclined to ask. Just a bit skittish.
    Last edited by Transfurzz; 05-24-2006 at 04:31 AM.

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

  10. #10
    Hammerhead Shark SprySpectre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    audio nirvana...
    Posts
    1,251
    Quote Originally Posted by Transfurzz
    Better bring some band-aid. Either way I don't have solder, my school has both solder and a digital multimeter. So that should work perfectly. Is it advisable to get a portable multimeter in this line of work ? Computer Engineering to be exact.
    I'm a computer engineer and I don't own one, but I definitely want one. However, the main reason I don't own one yet is my older roommate is also a computer engineer and has one so I just borrow his whenever I need it.
    Last edited by SprySpectre; 05-24-2006 at 12:47 PM.
    Audio Setups:
    E-MU 0404 ---toslink---> Panasonic SA-XR55s ---> Ascend Acoustics CBM170's with Dayton 12"
    E-MU 0404 ---analog---> Little Dot II tube amp ---> Beyerdynamics DT880 or Sennheiser HD280 pros.
    Technics SL-1200 MKII ---> TCC TC-750LC Phono Preamp ---> Panasonic SA-XR55s ---> Ascend Acoustics CBM170's with Dayton 12"


    Proud Sharky Folding@Home member! (Rank 37 and counting...)

  11. #11
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374
    Well just picked up some solder and had some practice with it in school. Free solder from school is fun.

    Now, I'll head down to the shop that sold the cans to me and see if warranty covers the damage. If it doesn't, I'll go about looking for replacement plugs.

    Which is more advisable to get by the way ? A analogue or digital portable multimeter.
    Last edited by Transfurzz; 05-25-2006 at 08:50 AM.

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

  12. #12
    Great White Shark thrawn86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Auburn Univ.
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by Transfurzz
    I just run it through on Ammeter mode right ? Connect the negative to ground ?
    just connect your two probes between the two points you want to check the connection for. This is so you can verify that the right wire (mini plug middle ring), left wire (mini plug tip) and ground (base/chasis) are connected properly and there is no existing connection between either the left/right channels and ground.

    you want to set it to resistance in ohms on the lowest scale (or just get one thats autoranging, it sets the scale automatically).

    reading of 0.0 ohms (or some very very low resistance) means continuity, infinite resistance means an open circuit, or no continuity.
    AM2 Windsor 2.4ghz -> Asus M2N-E/ 2048mb G.Skill ddr2800 -> Sapphire x1800xt
    A2 Plat eX -->Canare Cables/Pimeta --> AudioTechnica ATH-A500 & Ety ER-6
    Infinity Primus 150 w/ Datyon 10" sub


    _____________________________
    Join the Sharky Folding@Home Team!

    Sharky's Extreme 3dmark Team

  13. #13
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374
    Quote Originally Posted by thrawn86
    reading of 0.0 ohms (or some very very low resistance) means continuity, infinite resistance means an open circuit, or no continuity.
    Yes, I understand. I am taking engineering.

    Thanks for replying, I'll keep that in mind.

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

  14. #14
    By the Power of Greyskull Colossus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    21,141
    You might run into a problem...

    Headphone wire is normally coated since they do run the pairs in the same plastic sleeve. So just soldering them together would not work, since the solder itself would not adhere to it.

    Itís the main problem I have always seen in headphones. I had to repair my 212Pro when one of the plugs broke.

    What you can do is take a small knife or blade and lay the cable on a piece of metal or board and scrap the cable slowly. Make sure not to rip the thin wires out as you scrap it. You donít want to add to much pressure and you donít need a long piece of scrapped wire.

    Once itís scraped it would have exposed the copper and you can solder it.

    Intel I7 960|Asus Rampage III Extreme|ATI 5970|12GB G.Skill|(2) Corsair P128 120GB SSD - RAID0|Water|(4) WD 1TB Caviar Black (RAID 5)|Corsair HX1000|Corsair 800D|(2) BenQ FP241WZ 24" LCD

    Home of 35TB of storage in RAID5

  15. #15
    Senor Sausage
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,374
    Quote Originally Posted by Colossus
    You might run into a problem...

    Headphone wire is normally coated since they do run the pairs in the same plastic sleeve. So just soldering them together would not work, since the solder itself would not adhere to it.

    Itís the main problem I have always seen in headphones. I had to repair my 212Pro when one of the plugs broke.

    What you can do is take a small knife or blade and lay the cable on a piece of metal or board and scrap the cable slowly. Make sure not to rip the thin wires out as you scrap it. You donít want to add to much pressure and you donít need a long piece of scrapped wire.

    Once itís scraped it would have exposed the copper and you can solder it.
    The copper is already exposed. I know how to strip wires too.

    Thank you for the headsup.

    Xbox Live Gamertag: Weistber

    Gaming Rig Status: Up
    | i5-2500 | MSI GTX560 | 2x2GB Corsair ValueRam


    Games I'm playing: Witcher 2 (PC), RAGE(PC), Fallout: New Vegas (PC), Gears Of War 3 (X360)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •