HELP ! what the heck is a "Teredo tunneling pseudo-interface"?

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: HELP ! what the heck is a "Teredo tunneling pseudo-interface"?

  1. #1
    Nerdy.......AND sexy dimmy32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Somewhere in Canada, eh ?
    Posts
    4,366

    HELP ! what the heck is a "Teredo tunneling pseudo-interface"?

    I was in my device manager and found this error - I know nothing about what it means. Should I be concerned ?

    i5 2500K
    Gigabyte H67A-UD3H-B3
    8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
    Evga GTX470
    Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000 aluminum case
    Silverstone Zeus 750W
    X-fi Gamer
    Altec Lansing MX 5021s
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Beef Wellington MrDigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    8,223
    It's part of the IPv6 network interface in Windows Vista. I wouldn't concern myself with it unless you need to use IPv6.
    There is the theory of the moebius. A twist in the fabric of space where time becomes a loop.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    Teredo tunneling is a method of tunneling IPV6 traffic over an IPV4 network.

    There are lots of issues with it so it is best to make your network 100% IPV6 or 100% IPV4. Most home users are stuck with IPV4 because that is all their routers and switches can handle.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Nerdy.......AND sexy dimmy32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Somewhere in Canada, eh ?
    Posts
    4,366
    How do i know if my home network is IPV6 or IPV4 ?
    I haveDSL with a lynksys modem, running 4 other comps wireless....

    Networking is not my forte....
    i5 2500K
    Gigabyte H67A-UD3H-B3
    8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
    Evga GTX470
    Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000 aluminum case
    Silverstone Zeus 750W
    X-fi Gamer
    Altec Lansing MX 5021s
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Beef Wellington MrDigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    8,223
    99.9999999% of the networking in the world is IPv4
    There is the theory of the moebius. A twist in the fabric of space where time becomes a loop.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    Open a CMD window and enter [ipconfig/all[/b]. The display will indicate IPV6 if it is available. Here is what my notebook wireless connection looks like.
    Code:
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-8D-F3-F0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::df1:b349:d1d9:66f5%9(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.6.61(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.6.253
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.6.4
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    Disable the device.
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Nerdy.......AND sexy dimmy32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Somewhere in Canada, eh ?
    Posts
    4,366
    thanks, i disabled it. i have no idea why it gave me the error in the first place tho. thanks for the help guys.
    i5 2500K
    Gigabyte H67A-UD3H-B3
    8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
    Evga GTX470
    Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000 aluminum case
    Silverstone Zeus 750W
    X-fi Gamer
    Altec Lansing MX 5021s
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Sushi
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Additional Code 19 Problems

    I, too, am having a Code 19 problem with the Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface. Unfortunately it has affected my USB CF Reader and ScanDisk c250 (MP3 Player) - which really ticks me off. Anyone know how to fix this so I can atleast load songs?

    Thanks,
    Jacob
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Sushi
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Could try disabling teredo

    here is a link that may help: http://www.networkworld.com/community/node/60116.
    Share on Google+

  11. #11
    Sushi
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1

    Teredo Tunnelling Adapter scam

    Quote Originally Posted by dimmy32 View Post
    I was in my device manager and found this error - I know nothing about what it means. Should I be concerned ?

    Be careful! there is a scam going around by a company called "Windows" or PC Restore.com- both fake.

    They send a warning sign to your computer that shows a fault in the Teredo Adapter Tunnelling register and if you check it on YouTube many of the sites advise them you are concerned.

    Then they ring you and try to take payment for fixing something that is completely normal,.
    It is usually an Indian call centre that is operating them scam.

    Just chant "Scammer, scammer, scammer!" at them and they ring off immediately!
    the otehr comments above are correct ignore it if yo are sent a warning signal about this and then rung up offering to fix it!
    Share on Google+

  12. #12
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,394
    This thread is 8 years old
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •