HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - A Guide v1.1 - Page 2

Sharky Forums


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36

Thread: HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - A Guide v1.1

  1. #16
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,655
    This is one sweet CPU! I have it @330x9=2970mhz with default voltages and it seems to be stable.....will run some benchies and games to check for stability.

    Edit - FYI, bios version I'm using for my mobo is 2205 which is a beta version, hell, as long as it works, I ain't gonna care!
    Last edited by mikeysg; 08-10-2007 at 12:05 PM.

  2. #17
    Okay guys, I updated the guide (now version v1.2). It has been streamlined, dead/bad links removed, etc.

  3. #18
    Mako Shark
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Texarkana, TX
    Posts
    3,385
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeysg
    This is one sweet CPU! I have it @330x9=2970mhz with default voltages and it seems to be stable.....will run some benchies and games to check for stability.

    Edit - FYI, bios version I'm using for my mobo is 2205 which is a beta version, hell, as long as it works, I ain't gonna care!
    Is that monster responsible for your folding output going up so nicely? 4 cores -- 4 instances? Temps with all 4?

  4. #19
    Tiger Shark Batou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    565
    i found a really good guide on OCing 6420s w/ gigabyte(budget)boards.

    http://legionhardware.com/document.php?id=677
    The poster formerly known as Kero-chan
    e6300@2.8ghz stock voltage, gigabyte ga-965p-s3, a-data 2GB ddr2 800 1:1, rosewill 550w(no it doesnt suck), 250gb WD sata, some sammy 16x burner w/ fancy lightscribe, x1900xt 256mb, x-mystique, some fans, and a case.
    Click here for proof that Leonard Nimoy is a SEXUAL NINJA!
    Heatware
    Save Ana!
    "If it's not love, then it's the bomb that will bring us together." -Morrissey (The Smiths)

  5. #20
    Mako Shark Nater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Crawfordsville Indiana
    Posts
    3,206
    Quote Originally Posted by RealBeast
    Is that monster responsible for your folding output going up so nicely? 4 cores -- 4 instances? Temps with all 4?

    Right now, with the Win SMP client, mine runs at 62-59C across the four cores. I'm running it at 3.4GHz and 1.3975v. No doubt I'll be able to take it higher once I get my water cooling setup. I need to buy some cheap tubing to mess around with the setup on my test bench before I use the Tygon in my case.
    Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (Tuniq Tower 120) - DFI Lanparty LT P35-T2R - 8GB Corsair DDR2-800 - eVGA GTX 275 SC - SoundBlaster X-Fi - Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB - Seagate 7200.10 750GB (2) - Western Digital 1.5TB Green (2) - Western Digital 2TB Green - WINDy-Soldam MT-Pro 1700 - Antec Signature 850W- HP LP2475W (H-IPS) - Samsung 204B (TN) - Alienware Ozma 7 Headphones - Windows 7 Ultimate

  6. #21
    @nater - your temps are very good for an air cooled machine... must be lapped?

  7. #22
    GSD on patrol kenrippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Orange Co. CA
    Posts
    4,205
    thanks for the guide graysky, it helped out in my first intel OC. (see sig)

    by chance do you need to update the core voltage for the quad cores to
    0.85V – 1.5V , or am i reading the specs wrong on intel's site?

    thanks again

    Q6600 "G0" @ 3.6ghz (400x9) - tuniq tower - IP35 Pro - 4x1gb ballistix ddr800 - Thermaltake W0128RU 650w - 2x74gb raptors raid-0 (OS drive)
    heat ebay



  8. #23
    Yeah, that's interesting. They changed it!
    Last edited by graysky; 10-09-2007 at 07:05 PM.

  9. #24
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    King George, Virginia
    Posts
    1,429
    Quote Originally Posted by graysky
    @nater - your temps are very good for an air cooled machine... must be lapped?
    I'm getting similar temps at 3.5 GHz, but I don't have it stable yet, and mine is a air cooled and not lapped. I'll post here when it's stable, the 6600 G0 is pretty sweet.

  10. #25
    ... Reign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,512
    my extreme edition is running pretty hot. 3,33Ghz at 1,3v in bios. 70C full load with tuniq (100% load on all 4 cores for 8 hours gives all cores at 70C)

    It runs 50C idle with speedstep enabled.
    ----------
    Intel QX6700 Tuniq Tower (3,30Ghz) |Intel D975XBX2 |4x 1GB OCZ Platinum XTC DDR2-6400
    Gigabyte 8800Ultra OC'd to (650/2200/1605)| X-fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro | Dell 2005 FPW
    Lian-Li v1000 plus| Silverstone ST56ZF 560W |WD Raptor 150GB |2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB
    ----------

  11. #26
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    King George, Virginia
    Posts
    1,429
    Upon further tests, I just couldn't keep stable at 3.5, and trying to get 3.3 for some reason wouldn't allow posting (***?) so I just went back down to 3.2, which is still powerful enough for me until I get water cooling.

  12. #27
    Just updated the guide to version 1.3 which contains new info, fixes, clean-ups, etc. Enjoy!

  13. #28
    Minor updates made.

  14. #29
    Version is now 1.5.2 (updates in first post)

  15. #30
    Guide is now version 1.6

    • Added a detailed section to help you find the minimum stable CPU and MB vcore settings. Check it out (near the bottom of the guide entitled, “Stress Testing and Minimizing Your Vcores”)!
    • Updated the CPU table
    • Provided a less than $5 method you can use to shave off some NB load temps (in the thermal management section at the end of the guide).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •