Compatibility Tab on Windows 7

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Compatibility Tab on Windows 7

  1. #1
    Tiger Shark
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    862

    Compatibility Tab on Windows 7

    I haven't made the jump to Windows 7 yet, but am looking into it. I am just wondering if the Home Premium version of Windows 7 has the compatibility tab option to run a program in an older version of Windows mode. I have read conflicting reports on Home Premium.

    Thanks.
    Intel Core i7 2600K / Asus P8Z68 Deluxe / Corsair 16GB DDR3 / 2xEVGA 570 2560MB SLI / Sound Blaster Z / 2xCrucial M4 256GBSSD / Seagate XT 2TB / Hitachi 3TB / 2xSeagate 320GB / Corsair HX 1050 / Cooler Master HAF-X
    Currently playing: Max Payne 3 (PC), Grid 2 (PC), Dark Souls (PS3), Gears of War Judgment (360)

    Last few finished:
    Halo 4 (360)

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,380
    More importantly - you mobo and cpu have to support VM....

    Do the Step #2 test here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx

  3. #3
    Tiger Shark
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    862
    VM support is fine....just wanna know if the compatibility option is there on a shortcut or exe file.
    Intel Core i7 2600K / Asus P8Z68 Deluxe / Corsair 16GB DDR3 / 2xEVGA 570 2560MB SLI / Sound Blaster Z / 2xCrucial M4 256GBSSD / Seagate XT 2TB / Hitachi 3TB / 2xSeagate 320GB / Corsair HX 1050 / Cooler Master HAF-X
    Currently playing: Max Payne 3 (PC), Grid 2 (PC), Dark Souls (PS3), Gears of War Judgment (360)

    Last few finished:
    Halo 4 (360)

  4. #4
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    XP Mode is not available in Home Premium according to Microsoft.

    Link

  5. #5
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,244
    The Compatibility tab should be there. The XP Mode thing is an entirely different feature. Essentially you install a virtual version of XP on your computer. From there, if you install programs within XP you can then run them from with 7.

    Windows 7 Professional x64
    Thermaltake Tsunami
    Asus Rampage III Formula
    Intel i7 960
    12Gigs G.Skill DDR3
    XFX HD6970


    www.dcwclan.com
    dakrsonic plays life.

  6. #6
    Tiger Shark
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    862
    Thanks DarkSonic.


    Thats what I was looking for....some people are saying its not there. I really don't care about the XP mode....I will probably dual boot XP x32 with 7 for awhile anyways.
    Intel Core i7 2600K / Asus P8Z68 Deluxe / Corsair 16GB DDR3 / 2xEVGA 570 2560MB SLI / Sound Blaster Z / 2xCrucial M4 256GBSSD / Seagate XT 2TB / Hitachi 3TB / 2xSeagate 320GB / Corsair HX 1050 / Cooler Master HAF-X
    Currently playing: Max Payne 3 (PC), Grid 2 (PC), Dark Souls (PS3), Gears of War Judgment (360)

    Last few finished:
    Halo 4 (360)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •