power outage last night.. now comp wont turn on

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: power outage last night.. now comp wont turn on

  1. #1
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323

    power outage last night.. now comp wont turn on

    The power went out in my entire house last night and today the computer won't turn on. When I plug it in, I can hear from the power supply a very very faint (high pitched) whining. Does this mean my PSU is shot? I tried replacing the PSU cord and same thing happened. All the other items connected to my surge protector are fine. They are all on a good belkin surge protector.

    Thoughts?

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,379
    Trying a new/different psu would be where I'd start.
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."


    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  3. #3
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323
    I replaced the PSU with this one:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153114

    I got it from bestbuy and installed it. After installation, I tried booting. Nothing happened. This time I just hear a faint buzzing sound from the PSU. Is this POS DOA??

    If not I'm S-O-O-L and will have to build a new computer. I am hoping the PSU is DOA cause it will be a complete hassle to have to build a new computer now.

    any other thoughts?

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  4. #4
    Ultra Great White Shark!! richardginn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,088
    Quote Originally Posted by kujoe2002 View Post
    I replaced the PSU with this one:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153114

    I got it from bestbuy and installed it. After installation, I tried booting. Nothing happened. This time I just hear a faint buzzing sound from the PSU. Is this POS DOA??

    If not I'm S-O-O-L and will have to build a new computer. I am hoping the PSU is DOA cause it will be a complete hassle to have to build a new computer now.

    any other thoughts?

    I say you might have gotten a bad PSU, but I also think with the Power outage that more than just the PSU that is ready for a funeral.
    www.myeducational plan.com-come see my plan to fix the USA educational system. I hope this is sig legal. Major Site Design Update on July 18, 2006. On June 18, 2009 passed the 10,000 post mark. December 24, 2009: Major Theme change and more....

  5. #5
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by richardginn View Post
    I say you might have gotten a bad PSU, but I also think with the Power outage that more than just the PSU that is ready for a funeral.
    Yea... Thats what I'm thinking at this point.....

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  6. #6
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    Time to spring for a battery backup unit with AVR to go along with your new rig.

  7. #7
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by ua549 View Post
    Time to spring for a battery backup unit with AVR to go along with your new rig.

    got any recommendations?

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  8. #8
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    I use APC units exclusively. Most of mine are 1.5 kva, but I put a 900 kva unit on my home theatre system (no PC) last month. CompUSA was having a sale.

  9. #9
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Alpharetta, Denial, Only certain songs.
    Posts
    9,776
    I will second APC 1500vA units. Love the 4 I have at home.

    Crusader for the 64-bit Era.
    New Rule: 2GB per core, minimum.

    Intel i7-2600K | Asus P8Z77-V | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    16GB PC3-12800 Kingston DDR3 | PNY GTX 570
    Fractal Arc Midi |Seasonic X650 PSU | Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  10. #10
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323
    any recommendations from newegg? I'm getting my new mobo, PSU and RAm from them

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  11. #11
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    APC BR1500G is a good consumer grade unit.

    You may want to use the calculator on APC's website to determine the size of the unit you need. IMO one can never have enough backup capacity if you live in an area prone to weather related power interruptions (snow, ice, wind) that can last for lengthy periods of time. I maintain a 30 minute battery reserve to give me enough time to fuel and start my generator. (I wish it was automatic. sigh)
    Last edited by ua549; 02-13-2011 at 04:02 PM.

  12. #12
    Mako Shark PriMaTe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    4,531
    I'd try clearing the cmos on the mobo, sometimes that helps when the comp won't boot even if you suspect a component was damaged. Sometimes mobos are finicky like that

    Corsair 550vx
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L
    C2D e6750 @ 2.66
    2 gig ram
    Asus Radeon 4850
    Audigy 2

  13. #13
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by PriMaTe View Post
    I'd try clearing the cmos on the mobo, sometimes that helps when the comp won't boot even if you suspect a component was damaged. Sometimes mobos are finicky like that
    I would, but the computer wont turn on...... This is what I got to replace my parts:

    MOBO:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130252

    RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145315

    PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139010


    I'm hoping that the mobo will work with these two CPU's:

    my CURRENT one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115052

    the replacement one in 4 months:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115041

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  14. #14
    Mako Shark PriMaTe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    4,531
    Quote Originally Posted by kujoe2002 View Post
    I would, but the computer wont turn on...... This is what I got to replace my parts:

    MOBO:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130252

    RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145315

    PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139010


    I'm hoping that the mobo will work with these two CPU's:

    my CURRENT one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115052

    the replacement one in 4 months:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115041
    There is a jumper on your motherboard to clear the cmos, check your manual. Your computer doesn't have to turn on to do it, you just move the jumper to the clear pins for a couple seconds, then move it back and see if it boots.

    Corsair 550vx
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L
    C2D e6750 @ 2.66
    2 gig ram
    Asus Radeon 4850
    Audigy 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •