120GB SSD, now what?

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 120GB SSD, now what?

  1. #1
    Tiger Shark Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    O'Fallon, MO
    Posts
    828

    120GB SSD, now what?

    I picked up a 120GB SSD from newegg last week that was on sale. I have been wanting one for a long time but they were way to expensive. I finally got it and now after the impulse buy I am not sure the best way to take advantage of its speed? I have Windows 7 64bit and 2 1TB drives currently running in raid 0 configuration. What is the best way to use the drive? Should I install only windows 7 on it, and keep the other drive for my applications and games? I was thinking I could get by with the OS installed and just a few games that I play on a regular basis and uninstall them after I am done to play new ones. But after trying it and installing just two games I am already finding myself low on space. Seems Star Wars the old republic needs 50gb of HD space!

    So what would be the best performance usage of this drive for me? I am thinking just the OS? Will that help the performance of gaming in general even if the games themselves are not installed on it, or did I just blow some cash to have a faster system boot?

    Feeling kind of silly now, lol.

    Thanks
    Western Digital Black 500Gb x 2 RAID 0 | Seagate Barracuda ES ST3750640NS 750GB | EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR X58 RT | INTEL CORE I7 920 2.66G 45N R | CORSAIR Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 | ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 | Samsung 22" | Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium

  2. #2
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Alpharetta, Denial, Only certain songs.
    Posts
    9,769
    Put windows plus any daily use applications on the drive. Install any of your current "love of the week" games to the drive, then remove them or move them when you grow bored with them.

    Basically Windows + Email/Internet/music/videos applications and you'll be very happy. Gaming will be nice, but isn't quite as important.

    Crusader for the 64-bit Era.
    New Rule: 2GB per core, minimum.

    Intel i7-2600K | Asus P8Z77-V | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    16GB PC3-12800 Kingston DDR3 | PNY GTX 570
    Fractal Arc Midi |Seasonic X650 PSU | Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  3. #3
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,323
    install that sucker and let 'er rip! BTW, which brand did you go with? I have the 160GB Intel 320 SSD. I only have my operating system (Windows 7 HP) and program files, applications and a few games. I store all of my data (documents, music, etc) on separate hard drives. 50GB of HDD space? Get rid of that game or run it off of another HDD. My biggest game is only 3GB!!
    Last edited by kujoe2002; 02-17-2012 at 03:24 PM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    HDD: 1TB Seagate SATA
    HDD: 1TB WD SATA
    HDD: 2 TB Seagate SATA
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: Westinghouse 32" LCD 1080p

  4. #4
    nuclear launch detected kpxgq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    16,612
    you should put as much of your most used application/games/data on your SSD... IMHO, its a waste to use just 15gb of 120gb for the OS and have the rest sitting empty while your apps and games still load slow from a mechanical hard drive.

    this is the biggest reason i went from a 64gb to a 120gb SSD so i could have all my apps and games on the SSD.. i am even thinking of upgrading to a 240+ GB SSD so i can put my media/mp3s on the SSD as well since there is a slight lag when loading a new mp3 when your mechanical HDD is idle
    bitfenix prodigy, i5 4670k, asrock z87e-itx, pny gtx 760, crucial m500 msata, seasonic x650, dell st2220t

  5. #5
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    Instead of going to a bigger SSD create a compressed folder and/or volume to hold media.
    The speed is fantastic and you'll save a few bucks. I did that on a notebook that was approaching capacity. I really didn't notice the difference in speed loading music files.

  6. #6
    MakoSharkero bldegle2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Floyd, VA, usa
    Posts
    3,044
    Here is what I did, this is after several intinerations of loadage...

    I have the Vertex 3 120GB unit, I have win7, MS Office suite 10, lots of Adobe and more video ripping/editing stuffs, and I have a 2gb fixed page file on the drive, and the rest of my stuff, games and data go on a 600GB Velociraptor 10,000 spinner...

    Using a total of 40.2gb, I did eliminate the Hiberfil.sys to gain a whole lot of disk space...

    You leave your two spinners in raid, the raid for games and whatever else will give a boost to performace, boot using the SSD...

    Which one did you get?

    Laterzzz.....
    I am gettin too old for all this st.ff!

    Specs? it runs.................

    Tbird quotes:

    "I dont care that much for gaming"
    "I am done with 3dmark."

    AsRock 970 Extreme4,Vishera 8320 @4.6, Vertex 4 256GB SataIII SSD, 2xVelociraptor 600GB 10,000 spinner in raid 0 storage....16g Gskill DDR3 2133 @2292, ATI 6850, back on huge air (quiet)....HP Laptop redone OS (ie, no HP krud), AMD Phenom II N620, 8gig DDR3 1333 ram, Sanddisk SataII 120GB SSD, Toshiba 500GB 7200 spinner...

  7. #7
    Hammerhead Shark dyne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The mistake on the lake.
    Posts
    2,965
    I had no idea they made a 600GB Raptor. I had the 150 Raptor X and loved it.
    my rig

    cpu: Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.5ghz
    mobo: AsRock Z68 Extreme4
    ram: 4x4gig GSkill Ripjaw X ddr3 1866
    cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    mouse: Logitech G500
    video: MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB
    hdd(s): Crucial M4 SSD 240 gig (Windows 7)
    Western Digital 1.5 TB (data drive)
    dvd +/- r: Pioneer 111D D/L
    monitor: 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
    psu: PC P&C 610W
    chassis: NZXT Phantom

  8. #8
    MakoSharkero bldegle2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Floyd, VA, usa
    Posts
    3,044
    it is a 2.5" unit, but 15mm high/thick, too high for laptops (9.5mm or 12.5mm) and it runs on 12v, not 5v, in a huge cooling caddy...

    it is an enterprise quality unit, SATAlll they ain't cheap...check the EGG...

    they run really cool too and are more efficient. less electrons...

    laterzzzz....
    Last edited by bldegle2; 02-19-2012 at 07:47 AM.
    I am gettin too old for all this st.ff!

    Specs? it runs.................

    Tbird quotes:

    "I dont care that much for gaming"
    "I am done with 3dmark."

    AsRock 970 Extreme4,Vishera 8320 @4.6, Vertex 4 256GB SataIII SSD, 2xVelociraptor 600GB 10,000 spinner in raid 0 storage....16g Gskill DDR3 2133 @2292, ATI 6850, back on huge air (quiet)....HP Laptop redone OS (ie, no HP krud), AMD Phenom II N620, 8gig DDR3 1333 ram, Sanddisk SataII 120GB SSD, Toshiba 500GB 7200 spinner...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •