GTX680 2GB is out! - Page 2

 Home

News

Forums

Hardware

CPUs

Motherboards

Video

Guides

CPU Prices

RAM Prices


Sharky Extreme : Forums:


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37

Thread: GTX680 2GB is out!

  1. #16
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Alpharetta, Denial, Only certain songs.
    Posts
    9,718
    Quote Originally Posted by Timman_24 View Post
    I'm most excited about nvidia now supporting over 2 monitors on a single card.
    Can you provide a few links to this? I saw a brief note about 3-display support, but I haven't been able to really find more details. Most of the reviews only touch on the fact that nVidia has some how solved driving more than 2 TMDS type displays at a time.


    *Edit: What I've been able to find.


    http://www.geforce.com/optimize/guid...80-surround/#1
    Quote Originally Posted by nvidia.com
    In 2D Surround, any combination of monitors that share common timings is perfectly acceptable, though each must have, at minimum, one DVI, HDMI, or DisplayPort connector. Aesthetically, identical monitors are preferable, but not a requirement.
    In 3D Vision Surround, each monitor must be an identical make and model, and you must use three matching digital connectors. We will go into detail below, but you may need additional adapters for this.
    The Accessory Display, the forth monitor, does not have to be identical to the three Surround displays, but does require one of the three possible connectors.

    In 3D Vision Surround, any monitor connected to the DisplayPort output must use a DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI adapter so that all three monitors are using Dual-Link DVI.
    Last edited by James; 03-23-2012 at 09:08 AM.

    Crusader for the 64-bit Era.
    New Rule: 2GB per core, minimum.

    Intel i7-2600K | Asus P8Z77-V | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    16GB PC3-12800 Kingston DDR3 | PNY GTX 570
    Fractal Arc Midi |Seasonic X650 PSU | Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  2. #17
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,595
    Got her installed. One of my biggest complaints with the 470 is alleviated. The 470 did not downclock out of 3D mode when two displays were hooked up. This meant it idled at 600-700mhz with full vcore. I had to use a 3rd party program to force it into a lower state, but I had to remember to shut that off when watching video or playing games. So it was a big PITA. The 680GTX adjusts clocks down even with multiple displays, so that is fantastic.

    Wow I ran 3DMark11 and the max temperature was only in the 70's on the stock cooler. May not even need WC for this card.
    Last edited by Timman_24; 03-23-2012 at 01:33 PM.
    Main Rig: Case Labs S3 --- Copper Build
    3570k | Asrock Z77E ITX | GSkill 2x8GB | Gigabyte 7970
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat | Case Labs S3
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower | Copper Tubing

    Hackintosh Workstation: Aircooled
    i5-2400 | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | Mushkin 4x4GB
    EVGA 640 GT | 256MB M4 | PCP&C 600W | Corsair 550D
    Currently playing: Tomb Raider
    Last Game Beaten: Bioshock Infinite

  3. #18
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,655
    Quote Originally Posted by Timman_24 View Post
    Wow I ran 3DMark11 and the max temperature was only in the 70's on the stock cooler. May not even need WC for this card.
    Yep, these newer cards load temp is about mid 70's or so. Welcome to the realm of maxed out gaming! Awesome card btw....

  4. #19
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,595
    Played some TDU2 today. It is nice having the game completely maxed with FXAA and 8xAA on while the GPU load is only 70% while it is underclocking itself lol.

    This thing is total overkill at 1080p, but I'm thinking of either going 3x1080p surround or just getting one of those 2560x1440 korean monitors, OR maybe going all out and getting a 30" dell. Then Ivy Bridge is coming out in a few weeks, better start saving

    Dirt 3 with Ultra settings, FXAA, and 4XAA with Vsync locked a 60fps only had a GPU load of 55% which meant very low temps while playing. Smooth as butter.

    I've never seen Crysis on all Ultra settings. I literally turned everything up to max with AA and it runs fine. Crazy. Looks awesome. Can't believe this is a 4 year old game.
    Last edited by Timman_24; 03-24-2012 at 02:48 PM.
    Main Rig: Case Labs S3 --- Copper Build
    3570k | Asrock Z77E ITX | GSkill 2x8GB | Gigabyte 7970
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat | Case Labs S3
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower | Copper Tubing

    Hackintosh Workstation: Aircooled
    i5-2400 | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | Mushkin 4x4GB
    EVGA 640 GT | 256MB M4 | PCP&C 600W | Corsair 550D
    Currently playing: Tomb Raider
    Last Game Beaten: Bioshock Infinite

  5. #20
    Nerdy.......AND sexy dimmy32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Somewhere in Canada, eh ?
    Posts
    4,366
    nice ! how much of an improvement over your old 470 ?
    %-wise ?
    i5 2500K
    Gigabyte H67A-UD3H-B3
    8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
    Evga GTX470
    Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000 aluminum case
    Silverstone Zeus 750W
    X-fi Gamer
    Altec Lansing MX 5021s

  6. #21
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,595
    Quote Originally Posted by dimmy32 View Post
    nice ! how much of an improvement over your old 470 ?
    %-wise ?
    Double the stock vs stock performance easily. My stock 470 did ~5000 in 3dMark11. The stock 680 hits 9800. My watercooled and majorly OCed 470 number were ~6300 in 3DMark11. I haven't tried OCing the 680 yet. I don't have any reason to try since it is so crazy fast right now.

    Realistically, the 470 struggled with Crysis on medium settings without any AA. The 680 does everything on ultra with AA and FXAA without any problem. It never dips below 50fps. I want to fire up Crysis 2 as I was never able to properly run that with the 470.

    The card is sipping only 180W at max load, which is crazy low. I haven't messed with the power settings, but you can get it to go up to 225W through the control panel to get a decent overclock.
    Last edited by Timman_24; 03-24-2012 at 04:33 PM.
    Main Rig: Case Labs S3 --- Copper Build
    3570k | Asrock Z77E ITX | GSkill 2x8GB | Gigabyte 7970
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat | Case Labs S3
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower | Copper Tubing

    Hackintosh Workstation: Aircooled
    i5-2400 | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | Mushkin 4x4GB
    EVGA 640 GT | 256MB M4 | PCP&C 600W | Corsair 550D
    Currently playing: Tomb Raider
    Last Game Beaten: Bioshock Infinite

  7. #22
    Nerdy.......AND sexy dimmy32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Somewhere in Canada, eh ?
    Posts
    4,366
    thats crazy better ! thanks ! I'll consider getting this card , most likely sometime this year.
    i5 2500K
    Gigabyte H67A-UD3H-B3
    8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
    Evga GTX470
    Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000 aluminum case
    Silverstone Zeus 750W
    X-fi Gamer
    Altec Lansing MX 5021s

  8. #23
    Engineer credit to *****! flutie98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CNSE UAlbany
    Posts
    4,109
    That sounds great, If I hadn't just dropped a bunch on a new rifle I would have been all over one of these. My 6870 still doesnt churn out enough fps to play BF3 optimally.
    |Core i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz|MSI Z77-GD65|8.0GB G.skill DDR3 1600|XFX AMD 6870|
    |Samsung 830 SSD|HP LP2465 24" LCD|Antec P280|Seasonic X750 PSU|H2O Cooling|Windows 7 x64|

    |Core i3 2100|ASRock H61-GM|8.0GB DDR3|AMD Radeon 6450|Kingston V100+ SSD|
    |Antec Fusion V2|Epson 8350 1080P 3LCD on 100" EliteScreen|

    |ThinkPad T420|Core i5 2520M|8.0GB DDR3|OCZ Vertex 4|

    Audio: Radeon 6450 (HDMI)->Onkyo TX-NR509 ->Polk M60/M30/CSII + Velodyne VX10

  9. #24
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,595
    Spent some more time with it last night. This card is a pretty large departure from traditional video cards. There is a lot of tech going on in the back ground, and people don't quite know what to make of it yet. The overclocking can only be done via offsets, but they give strange results. You actually change what the "potential" of the card is, not the actual clocks.

    The card uses an algorithm to determine the best load, voltage, and clocks depending on the heat, demand, fan setting, and numerous other mysterious factors right now. For stock performance, this is fantastic since the card only has to run as fast as needed, which saves power and prevents unneeded heat. For overclocking though, there are a lot of parameters that people are trying to figure out such as setting the fan to 65% gives a much better overclock. Not because of temperature, but because of a value in the algorithm.

    Also, it has been shown that more voltage at a slightly higher temp will bring clocks down quite a bit. Too low of a temp and clocks seems to lock in. Right now it is all over the place. I can't wait for someone to crack the best way to overclock, because it will surely involve huge flow charts lol.

    I don't mind right now because this thing smokes everything I throw at it with stock performance.

    BTW, here is a pic of it in my comp:

    Main Rig: Case Labs S3 --- Copper Build
    3570k | Asrock Z77E ITX | GSkill 2x8GB | Gigabyte 7970
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat | Case Labs S3
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower | Copper Tubing

    Hackintosh Workstation: Aircooled
    i5-2400 | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | Mushkin 4x4GB
    EVGA 640 GT | 256MB M4 | PCP&C 600W | Corsair 550D
    Currently playing: Tomb Raider
    Last Game Beaten: Bioshock Infinite

  10. #25
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Alpharetta, Denial, Only certain songs.
    Posts
    9,718
    Digging the LED lit pump lid. That's pretty sweet looking.

    Crusader for the 64-bit Era.
    New Rule: 2GB per core, minimum.

    Intel i7-2600K | Asus P8Z77-V | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    16GB PC3-12800 Kingston DDR3 | PNY GTX 570
    Fractal Arc Midi |Seasonic X650 PSU | Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  11. #26
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,595
    Quote Originally Posted by James View Post
    Digging the LED lit pump lid. That's pretty sweet looking.
    Thanks, radioshack LEDs wired to a Molex adapter The blue ones are expensive haha.
    Last edited by Timman_24; 03-25-2012 at 01:12 PM.
    Main Rig: Case Labs S3 --- Copper Build
    3570k | Asrock Z77E ITX | GSkill 2x8GB | Gigabyte 7970
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat | Case Labs S3
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower | Copper Tubing

    Hackintosh Workstation: Aircooled
    i5-2400 | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | Mushkin 4x4GB
    EVGA 640 GT | 256MB M4 | PCP&C 600W | Corsair 550D
    Currently playing: Tomb Raider
    Last Game Beaten: Bioshock Infinite

  12. #27
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,655
    Ooooooh, VERY NICE!!!

    Damn, I don't have the talent to do such nice work....

  13. #28
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,595
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeysg View Post
    Ooooooh, VERY NICE!!!

    Damn, I don't have the talent to do such nice work....
    Eh, anyone that can solder two wires together can create arrays of LEDs. The hardest part is making it look decent. I still fumble my way around sleeving wires.
    Main Rig: Case Labs S3 --- Copper Build
    3570k | Asrock Z77E ITX | GSkill 2x8GB | Gigabyte 7970
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat | Case Labs S3
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower | Copper Tubing

    Hackintosh Workstation: Aircooled
    i5-2400 | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | Mushkin 4x4GB
    EVGA 640 GT | 256MB M4 | PCP&C 600W | Corsair 550D
    Currently playing: Tomb Raider
    Last Game Beaten: Bioshock Infinite

  14. #29
    "Watches You Sleep" Shark taggart6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    15,871
    running a 4870 that is starting to show its age. Thinking of grabbing this for my birthday. looks hot!
    If we hit that bull's eye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate.

  15. #30
    Super Villain Moderator Un4given's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT United States
    Posts
    22,544
    Congrats. My Q6600 is starting to show its age, so I'm in the process of rebuilding my system, so I will have to stick with my 6970 (BIOS modded 6950) for now.
    Last edited by Un4given; 03-27-2012 at 07:01 PM.
    Prince of the OC Crusaders

    Intel i7 3.2GHz @ 3.93GHz
    Cooler Master V8
    Asus P9X79 Pro
    16GB Patriot Viper Extreme DDR3-1600
    MSI Radeon HD6950 - Unlocked to 6970
    1TB/1.5TB - 200/80/500GB Seagate SATA (7200RPM)
    Asus 20x DVD-RW DL DVD-RW

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •