Zen 2 / Ryzen 3000 rumors... - Page 2

Sharky Forums


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: Zen 2 / Ryzen 3000 rumors...

  1. #16
    Great White Shark mikeysg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,693
    I've been advised to use Ryzen Master from AMD (obviously!), I see temp fluctuates here as well, but all within 30+ C when in idle. GPU-Z is picking up and showing the wrong temp from what I've able to gather. I'll be running AIDA64 and testing my RAM at rated XMP speed of 3200Mhz CL16 (I will be getting a set of Patriot Steel Viper 3733Mhz CL17, so I'll run this too when I get it). Will also run a few game benchmarks to see how this new rig performs....bear in mind, I'm using a VEGA64, so I can't quite get a high gaming benchmark so bear with me.
    Last edited by mikeysg; 08-14-2019 at 08:28 AM.

  2. #17
    Invisible Modfish Vindir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,678
    Definitely frustrating I'm sure. I like the idea that the benchmarking and monitoring tools haven't caught up to the new chips much better than the idea of a chip which will spike temps though!

    Hopefully they'll iron things out within 6-12 months and the usual stuff will be back to working order. I dunno if I'll get to build something new before mid-2020 but if so these look like fun.
    Insert ancient Sharky sig here
    [
    Prince Vindir of the OC Crusaders
    Holding Boundaries and Breaking Barriers

    ]

  3. #18
    Great White Shark mikeysg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,693
    Pardon my slow pace guys, kinda new to this Ryzen setup, OC'ing via Ryzen Master is proving to be quite easy. I ran Cinebench20 with CPU at 4.3ghz, 1.375v. I believe there's more OC'ing headroom, so I'll be back periodically to update.

  4. #19
    "Watches You Sleep" Shark taggart6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    16,183
    That setup looks sick. My current rig is 5 years old and I'm getting an itch to upgrade...
    If we hit that bull's eye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate.

  5. #20
    Great White Shark mikeysg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,693
    Quote Originally Posted by taggart6 View Post
    That setup looks sick. My current rig is 5 years old and I'm getting an itch to upgrade...
    You know you wanna do it, scratch that itch! And just to tempt you a little more, a shot of my rig with the PowerColor Vega64 Red Devil


    Did another run at C20 with CPU at 4.4Ghz


    CB R15 with CPU at 4.45Ghz

  6. #21
    Invisible Modfish Vindir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,678
    How are you liking it so far Mikey? Have you done much gaming on it yet?
    Insert ancient Sharky sig here
    [
    Prince Vindir of the OC Crusaders
    Holding Boundaries and Breaking Barriers

    ]

  7. #22
    Great White Shark mikeysg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,693
    Quote Originally Posted by Vindir View Post
    How are you liking it so far Mikey? Have you done much gaming on it yet?
    This rig was built mainly for games, so it's a given I've gamed on it! I don't like it, I freaking love it!!! I've played UT3, Gears 5, Metro Exodus, Strange Brigade, Borderlands 3, and a few others at 3440x1440, and my VEGA64 is definitely holding me back. While Gears 5 is still quite playable at near max setting, I'd had to lock framerate to 60fps to prevent fluctuating framerates. Borderlands is surprisingly tough on the VEGA64, while quite playable, framerate doess dip below 60fps......no fault of the 3900X (I have it at 4.475Ghz @1.35v and it's been stable for all the games I've played). As for gaming performance, I can't say anything about the Ryzen 3 3900X potential since I'm being held back by my VEGA64, but I believe it's not far behind a 9900K in terms of sheer gaming performance, but for productivity (for those of you who, strangely enough, do actually use their systems for productivity uses) it's a monster (based on benchmarks I've seen). While I'm being held back by my VEGA64 in terms of gaming performance, it's nothing AMD NAVI23 or nVidia Ampere GPU's can't resolve though.
    Last edited by mikeysg; 10-07-2019 at 09:45 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •