For those getting the RPC shutdown error, here is your answer,& msblast.exe

Sharky Forums


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: For those getting the RPC shutdown error, here is your answer,& msblast.exe

  1. #1
    Super Villain Moderator Un4given's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT United States
    Posts
    22,555

    For those getting the RPC shutdown error, here is your answer.

    This has been know about for awhile anyway. If you want to see what it is about, here is a link.

    http://www.astalavista.com/library/a...ng_Exploit.pdf

    If you don't already have a firewall installed on your system, get one. Even if you have one in a router, you may still want to get ZA or another similar software firewall, just to be safe.
    Prince of the OC Crusaders

    Intel i7 3.2GHz @ 4.24GHz
    Cooler Master V8
    Asus P9X79 Pro
    16GB Patriot Viper Extreme DDR3-1600 (quad channel)
    HIS R9 290X @1050MHz
    Asus 20x DVD-RW DL DVD-RW

  2. #2
    Super Villain Moderator Un4given's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT United States
    Posts
    22,555
    I'm bumping this back to the top because I know there are already 4 or 5 threads regarding this problem.
    Prince of the OC Crusaders

    Intel i7 3.2GHz @ 4.24GHz
    Cooler Master V8
    Asus P9X79 Pro
    16GB Patriot Viper Extreme DDR3-1600 (quad channel)
    HIS R9 290X @1050MHz
    Asus 20x DVD-RW DL DVD-RW

  3. #3
    Sleeps with the Fishes bromide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    978
    DOWNLOAD THIS FILE IMMEDIATELY! people can access your computer and cause many things to happen. this file should take care of it. getting a hardware firewall is the best solution...this file takes care of your needs though


    http://microsoft.com/downloads/detai...displaylang=en
    Last edited by bromide; 08-11-2003 at 04:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    40
    Originally posted by bromide
    DOWNLOAD THIS FILE IMMEDIATELY! people can access your computer and cause many things to happen. this file should take care of it. getting a hardware firewall is the best solution...this file takes care of your needs though


    http://microsoft.com/downloads/detai...displaylang=en
    I have a hardware firewall, my router. I had the problem too.

  5. #5
    Sleeps with the Fishes bromide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    978
    try downloading that file...check to see if you left any ports open. especially your TELNET port. that is what this is going through. GOOD LUCK!

  6. #6
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    40
    I installed ZA, installed the patch, installed all windows updates, seems fixed. Someone else posted they installed the patch first and it didnt work.

  7. #7
    Tiger Shark
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    548
    if you are getting shutdowns before you can finish a download, enable the windows firewall before starting the download. The patch does seem to require SP1. Correct me if I am wrong
    3D Mark Team (Too Lazy For HTML!) - http://www.irydium.net/3dmark

  8. #8
    Sleeps with the Fishes bromide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    978
    i dont think it does require SP1(not 100% sure though)...but if you dont have sp1 you should get it!


    btw- that patch is for XP

    http://microsoft.com/downloads/detai...displaylang=en

  9. #9
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    8
    Is it possible to download this in safe mode?

  10. #10
    Hammerhead Shark Immortal LuD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,128
    Holy mother of Lord, thanks for this!!!... I didn't have SP1, and mine was restarting everytime the thing booted up. A few days ago, it was doing it every so often, but not everytime the computer booted up.

    I tried formatting my hard drive, using a different one, and it STILL did it! Ha, go figure. Glad I came back here to find the patch! Worked like a charm.

  11. #11
    Old School OCer OS-Wiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, Mo, USA
    Posts
    12,242
    If you've ran Windows Update yesterday or the day before that patch is already on . . .
    The Money Trap = Intel i7 930 | Corsair H70 | ASUS P6X58D-E | 3 x 2GB G.Skill DDR3 2000 6-9-6-24 | EVGA GTX 580 DS SC | OCZ Vertex 2 90GB SSD | WD VelociRaptor | Klipsch ProMedia | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Antec TPQ-1200W | Dell U2711 2560 x 1440 27" | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | APC RS1500

  12. #12
    Hammerhead Shark GetCarter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,966
    Hate using Software Firewalls, they slow net access down, seriously...**** h4x0rs. Got ZA3 up'n'running, man, I feel like i've just put kevlar on my internet connection.

  13. #13
    Hammerhead Shark gateway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Home on the Range
    Posts
    1,549

    Killing What's Already There

    I tried that update earlier when I was having trouble and it didnt seem to do anything for me :-/ If you already have it, then maybe this will help.

    A friend told me to try this:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Download this: http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

    You want to make sure that system restore is off when you run stinger

    And, while the timer is up go into a dos prompt, or run cmd.exe type shutdown -a it'll shutdown the timer

    Also, you want to shut down using ctrl alt delete msblast.exe

    After that go to the control panel then into the administrative tools and select services. Scroll down to Remote procedure call and double click it, hit the recovery tab
    and put take no action on the first, second and third failure.

    Also, I believe that it has something with Msblast.exe in your registry. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run remove the key about msblast.exe
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I was lucky and all I had to do was run the Stinger and I am okay (I think) but for those who are having more trouble, try the rest (although I don't think you'll have to). And anyone else who is having trouble with worms or viruses try that stinger, it seems to work quite well for so little effort into getting it. Hopefully that might give another solution to killing it so then that patch can be effective. Goodluck
    Last edited by gateway; 08-12-2003 at 02:24 AM.
    [SGC Moderate Member]

    "I must not fear. Fear is the mind killer..."

    [Member of [PBLC]]

    "We believe if you can hack into your registry to change something, you should!"
    - The Screen Savers

  14. #14
    Hammerhead Shark GetCarter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,966
    www.sarc.com has a utility called FixBlast which does everything for you. You have to disable system restore, yeah, but then you run it, it scans all your files and kills msblast.

  15. #15
    Capt. Picard Fan Mod proxops-pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Houston, we have lift off!
    Posts
    10,316

    Re: Killing What's Already There

    Originally posted by gateway
    I tried that update earlier when I was having trouble and it didnt seem to do anything for me :-/ If you already have it, then maybe this will help.

    A friend told me to try this:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Download this: http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

    You want to make sure that system restore is off when you run stinger

    And, while the timer is up go into a dos prompt, or run cmd.exe type shutdown -a it'll shutdown the timer

    Also, you want to shut down using ctrl alt delete msblast.exe

    After that go to the control panel then into the administrative tools and select services. Scroll down to Remote procedure call and double click it, hit the recovery tab
    and put take no action on the first, second and third failure.

    Also, I believe that it has something with Msblast.exe in your registry. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run remove the key about msblast.exe
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I was lucky and all I had to do was run the Stinger and I am okay (I think) but for those who are having more trouble, try the rest (although I don't think you'll have to). And anyone else who is having trouble with worms or viruses try that stinger, it seems to work quite well for so little effort into getting it. Hopefully that might give another solution to killing it so then that patch can be effective. Goodluck
    Your solution seems to have worked for my case...
    Stupid Trojan viruses...
    Ivy i5-3570K|ASRock Z77E-ITX|Bitfenix Prodigy
    16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600|Antec TruePower Trio 550W
    MSI R6850 PE/OC (860/1100)
    Ivy i7-3770|Intel DZ68DB|ThermalTake V9 BlacX Edition
    32 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3-1866|Corsair AX850
    Zotac 1060 Mini 6GB|Dragonfly 1.5 USB DAC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •