12GB RAM Too Much?

Sharky Forums


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: 12GB RAM Too Much?

  1. #1
    Expensive Sushi Cosaides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    14

    Question 12GB RAM Too Much?

    I'm building a new PC, and I plan to use 64-bit Windows 7, so I can utilize more than 3GB of RAM. Looking at people's recommendations, I can see the favored amount is 6GB of RAM. I wanted to future-proof my RAM needs however, so I was looking at getting 8GB of RAM. Then I found out that DDR3's performance advantage over DDR2, only happens when you have RAM installed, in multiples of 3. So to get more than 6, and get the benefits of DDR3, I would need 12GB of RAM. Is this too much? Is there any advantage to 12GB? Would this be a disadvantage, somehow? Thanks for any info

  2. #2
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Ocean County NJ
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosaides View Post
    I'm building a new PC, and I plan to use 64-bit Windows 7, so I can utilize more than 3GB of RAM. Looking at people's recommendations, I can see the favored amount is 6GB of RAM. I wanted to future-proof my RAM needs however, so I was looking at getting 8GB of RAM. Then I found out that DDR3's performance advantage over DDR2, only happens when you have RAM installed, in multiples of 3. So to get more than 6, and get the benefits of DDR3, I would need 12GB of RAM. Is this too much? Is there any advantage to 12GB? Would this be a disadvantage, somehow? Thanks for any info
    I have 12 on Vista 64. Ram is not very expensive, so if your going for the gusto, get it. If you are trying to save some money get 6. My MB has 6 slots, if your does also, get 6 now, and get another 6 later if you think you need it.
    "Mister, we deal in lead." (Steve McQueen, the Magnificent Seven)

  3. #3
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    I have 16GB of memory and am considering adding another 16GB. My system can handle 64GB.

    The amount you need depends entirely on what you are doing.
    Are you running out of memory?
    Is your page file being used excessively? (Some use is normal.)
    The only drawback to having too much memory is that you've wasted money.

  4. #4
    Hammerhead Shark Spank_Me_Hard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ventura. California
    Posts
    2,900
    Isn't DDR3 pretty cheap these days?

    If so, I'd be tempted to go with 12GB.

    Way back in the days of EDO RAM, I remember waiting for it to get constantly cheaper. Then an earthquake hit Taiwan and the prices jumped sharply... never to come down for that RAM again.

    The lesson to me was to jump if you had any question while it was relatively cheap.
    Quote Originally Posted by Concerned Citizen View Post
    We should nuke the United States.
    i7-930 CPU w. Scythe Mugen2, Intel DX58SO mobo, WD Raptor 600GB 10K RPM HDD, 8GB PC12800 RAM, nVidia GTX285 2GB w. Artic Cooling Extreme, Antec P182SE case, Enermax MODU87+ 850W PSU, Vista 64 bit business, Xeno 128MB PCIe Killer NIC, Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe, Viewsonic 28" VX2835wm LCD

  5. #5
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Largo, FL.
    Posts
    5,443
    I look in Task Manager and see that I have 1.5 gigs of ram and that I'm not using HALF of it..Adding more ram for me would be a waste of hard earned cash cause there would be NO benefit to adding it...

    As far as future-proof -> odds are my computing habits won't change anytime soon.

  6. #6
    Mako Shark Nater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Crawfordsville Indiana
    Posts
    3,206
    What do you do? If you're just playing games and ripping DVDs, 12GB of ram is a waste of money. If you're doing bracketed HDR exposures in CS4 then it's worth the cost.

    I don't see why you're leaning towards an X58 system either, the P55 platform is a better value. The only advantage X58 has is Gulftown support, unless you do professional level video work or HD encodes for a torrent group you're not going to use the 6-cores and 12-threads of a Gulftown enough to warrant the $999 price tag.
    Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (Tuniq Tower 120) - DFI Lanparty LT P35-T2R - 8GB Corsair DDR2-800 - eVGA GTX 275 SC - SoundBlaster X-Fi - Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB - Seagate 7200.10 750GB (2) - Western Digital 1.5TB Green (2) - Western Digital 2TB Green - WINDy-Soldam MT-Pro 1700 - Antec Signature 850W- HP LP2475W (H-IPS) - Samsung 204B (TN) - Alienware Ozma 7 Headphones - Windows 7 Ultimate

  7. #7
    Avanti gkline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    5,974
    For the Intel MBs and the I core 7s multiples of 3 for triple channel memory ( 6 gigs or 12). The I 750 is dual channel so 4 or 8 gigs. I have an AMD 965BE on my MSI 790FX-GD70 with 8 gigs and it is very smooth. It also was with 4 gigs. The comments above about wasting cash have merit. My suggestion is go with 6 gigs and snatch one of those Intel 40 gig ssd hds for your operating system. Your machine will FLY!
    Here's the link to the ssd:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820167025
    1.asrock z68 extr4;2500k@4400;cm hyper212+;2-5850crossfire;8g gskillddr3-1600;cru300ssd sata3-64g,wdb500gsata3;x-fi titanium fatality pro;antec tpII 750w;win7-64 hp;hannsg hh241
    2asus p8z68-v pro/gen3 ;2500k@4426;corsair h60;sapphire 6950;intel x-25m-80g;intelx25-v40g;samsng f3 500g;8g gskill ddr3;asus xonar dx pci-e;win7 hp64;antec grn 750W;acer 23"

  8. #8
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8
    what do SSDs do and why are they so small in size? can someone explain their purpose or how they work to me?
    i see lots of great reviews and people keep mentioning them but i cant figure out why.

    do they just act like a regular hard drive that you would store larger/more demanding programs on?
    or is it some sort of passive device that helps speed up your system? (i really am clueless )

    and what you said about the triple channel memory, using either 6GB or 12GB, does that rely entirely on weather the specs say triple or double channel? as in: putting 8gb of ram in a triple channel motherboard doesnt make any sense?
    Last edited by genwarfare; 01-13-2010 at 10:18 PM.

  9. #9
    Expensive Sushi
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    9
    12GB of ram costs too much.

  10. #10
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Alpharetta, Denial, Only certain songs.
    Posts
    9,925
    Quote Originally Posted by genwarfare View Post
    what do SSDs do and why are they so small in size? can someone explain their purpose or how they work to me?
    i see lots of great reviews and people keep mentioning them but i cant figure out why.

    do they just act like a regular hard drive that you would store larger/more demanding programs on?
    or is it some sort of passive device that helps speed up your system? (i really am clueless )

    and what you said about the triple channel memory, using either 6GB or 12GB, does that rely entirely on weather the specs say triple or double channel? as in: putting 8gb of ram in a triple channel motherboard doesnt make any sense?
    If you want a really comprehensive overview of SSD technology, what it's good for, and what you should look for in an SSD, try reading the Anandtech SSD anthology.

    If you just want a quick overview, SSD's are solid state storage devices. This gives them multiple benefits:
    - Near zero access times compared to mechanical hard drives.
    - Insanely high random access speeds compared to mechanical hdd's.
    - Much higher transfer speeds than mechanical HDD's.
    - Much lower power consumption than regular HDD's.
    - The ability to offer more I/Ops than an entire RAID array of normal HDD's

    They are best suited for any kind of data that needs lots of random access, large amounts of I/O, and large amounts of bandwidth for reading/writing. This generally defines an Operating system. The majority of people who have SSD's have their OS and primary applications on them, and then all of their data and secondary apps on a normal hdd. This majority includes myself after picking up one of the new Intel X25-M 80GB SSD's.

    Crusader for the 64-bit Era.
    New Rule: 2GB per core, minimum.

    Intel i7-9700K | Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming ITX | Samsung 970 Evo 2TB SSD
    64GB DDR4-2666 Samsung | EVGA RTX 2070 Black edition
    Fractal Arc Midi |Seasonic X650 PSU | Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra | Windows 10 Pro x64

  11. #11
    Avanti gkline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    5,974
    Cosaides: To stay on your point, if your MB has 6 memory slots get 6 gigs of quality ddr3 ram (use of 3 lots in triple channel) and with the $$$ you saved on the additional 6 gigs ram(@$150-175) buy the Intel X25 V ssd for $129
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820167025

    You'll have enough room to install your operating system and perhaps an app you use alot. Then add a large mechanical HD for storage etc. Best bang for the buck. You can always add the ram later.
    Last edited by gkline; 01-14-2010 at 09:22 AM.
    1.asrock z68 extr4;2500k@4400;cm hyper212+;2-5850crossfire;8g gskillddr3-1600;cru300ssd sata3-64g,wdb500gsata3;x-fi titanium fatality pro;antec tpII 750w;win7-64 hp;hannsg hh241
    2asus p8z68-v pro/gen3 ;2500k@4426;corsair h60;sapphire 6950;intel x-25m-80g;intelx25-v40g;samsng f3 500g;8g gskill ddr3;asus xonar dx pci-e;win7 hp64;antec grn 750W;acer 23"

  12. #12
    Mako Shark Nater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Crawfordsville Indiana
    Posts
    3,206
    Quote Originally Posted by genwarfare View Post
    what do SSDs do and why are they so small in size? can someone explain their purpose or how they work to me?
    i see lots of great reviews and people keep mentioning them but i cant figure out why.

    do they just act like a regular hard drive that you would store larger/more demanding programs on?
    or is it some sort of passive device that helps speed up your system? (i really am clueless )

    and what you said about the triple channel memory, using either 6GB or 12GB, does that rely entirely on weather the specs say triple or double channel? as in: putting 8gb of ram in a triple channel motherboard doesnt make any sense?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid-state_drive

    And what do you mean 'specs say double or triple channel'? That doesn't make a lot of sense to me, you either have 3/6 DIMMs (tri-channel) or you have 2/4 (dual channel).
    Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (Tuniq Tower 120) - DFI Lanparty LT P35-T2R - 8GB Corsair DDR2-800 - eVGA GTX 275 SC - SoundBlaster X-Fi - Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB - Seagate 7200.10 750GB (2) - Western Digital 1.5TB Green (2) - Western Digital 2TB Green - WINDy-Soldam MT-Pro 1700 - Antec Signature 850W- HP LP2475W (H-IPS) - Samsung 204B (TN) - Alienware Ozma 7 Headphones - Windows 7 Ultimate

  13. #13
    Great White Shark
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    21,595
    Quote Originally Posted by Nater View Post
    And what do you mean 'specs say double or triple channel'? That doesn't make a lot of sense to me, you either have 3/6 DIMMs (tri-channel) or you have 2/4 (dual channel).
    The specs make the difference, not the number of memory slots because there are boards with more than 6 slots. My desktop board has 8 memory slots and my server board has 18 memory slots. I've owned boards with 2, 4, 12 and 16 memory slots.

    IMO one should not make a generalization based on the number of memory slots since there are boards with 1, 2, 3 and 4 memory channels.

  14. #14
    Tiger Shark
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Janesville, WI
    Posts
    800
    Different cpus/mobos have different numbers of memory channels, with the vast majority being dual channel and 1366/x58 being triple channel. The best performance occurs when you have identical sticks for each channel, though the margin of "best" here can be very thin. Much as it pains me to defend Nater, consumer boards which are probably what is relevant here do usually come with two dimm slots per channel, hence 4 or 6 dimm slots. Intel LGA 1156 or 775 systems and any AMD system less than 5 years old are all dual channel and so you would want either 2 or 4 ram sticks. If a stickis 2GB, then you want either 4 or 8 GB ram total. LGA 1366 systems have 3 memory channels and most x58 boards have 6 dimm slots, so best performance comes from 3 or 6 sticks (though they perform damn near as well with just 2 ram sticks), so for 2 GB sticks you're talking 6GB or 12GB total.

    To answer the question though, 12GB of ram is greatly excessive. 6GB should be plenty, and you can always pick up more if really necessary. However, if you do not have an x58/1366 system, then you should not be buying either...get either 4GB pack or 8GB. Note that this has nothing to do with whether the ram is ddr2 or ddr3 in particular, though x58 boards require ddr3 and so you will only see 3-stick packs of ram in ddr3. 2-stick ram packs come in both ddr2 and ddr3 flavors.
    Last edited by fluffmonster; 01-15-2010 at 02:54 PM.

    Mine: Core i7-920 + Xigmatek S1283 // Gigabyte UD4P // gigabyte windforce hd6870 // 3x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333 // Antec 900 V2 // Corsair TX750 // WD 640GB Cav. blue // Samsung TOC T240 24"

    kids: PhII 550 BE (quad unlocked) + freezer pro 64 // Gigabyte UD2H // 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1600 // CM Centurion 5 // gtx260-216 // Corsair HX620 // WD 640GB Cav. black // some 22" monitor

  15. #15
    I don't roll on Shabbos! Timman_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    12,648
    Quote Originally Posted by ua549 View Post
    I have 16GB of memory and am considering adding another 16GB. My system can handle 64GB.

    The amount you need depends entirely on what you are doing.
    Are you running out of memory?
    Is your page file being used excessively? (Some use is normal.)
    The only drawback to having too much memory is that you've wasted money.
    What do you do that uses that much memory? I only have 4 gigs and I never run out of room even playing the new games.
    PC: Corsair 550D
    4280k | Asus Rampage Gene | Mushkin 4x4GB | EVGA 780
    Intel 120GB SSD + 2TB Seagate | Seasonic 660 Plat
    2x Alphacool XT45 | Laing DDC | Bitspower

    Currently playing: Civ 5
    Last Game Beaten: Walking Dead

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •