tripple boot??

Sharky Forums


Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: tripple boot??

  1. #1
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342

    tripple boot??

    OK, so I know people have done dual boots (as have I) but that was a long time ago. This is my current setup:

    160GB Intel SSD: Windows 7
    250GB WD SATA: Windows 8 developer

    I'd like to mess around with linux again so I was wondering what people thought. Currently I have the bios giving me the option as to which OS to load with. My questions is:

    Can I do a triple boot with Linux?

    -if so-

    Can I install it on the same HDD or would people recommend a separate physical HDD?

    Way back when I had mandrake and XP installed there were constant conflicts. I'd like to install it on the 250GB that's currently housing Win 8 Developer.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  2. #2
    Mako Shark
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,277
    I am not sure how you have your system setup but I have a case with one of those external docks and have a rack. I gave Ubuntu installed on a spare HD completely separate from my Windows install. I would recommend doing it that way if you can. That way there is zero conflict. As soon as HD's come back to reasonable prices I might install Windows 7 on a 3rd HD but the only reason I have to upgrade is DX11.

  3. #3
    Mako Shark wh666-666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In a red kennel
    Posts
    4,577
    I have xp, win7 and linux all on one disk, works fine ...

    You can install linux on a separate drive but most releases are very stable and the graphical partition managers make resizing partitions easy as pie. You can comfortably install linux on a separate partition of the disk. The likes of ubuntu are very easy to work with.

    After you install linux, go to my computer > boot > grub > grub.cfg (not that you will need to, linux should detect all your current os's). That is the linux equivalent of the boot.ini file. In there you can make changes if you need to change boot priority, delete or add OS's to boot from.
    Compaq A910em: T2330 dual core 1.6Ghz, X3100 384MB GPU, 160GB sata HDD, 2GB RAM
    Gaming rig: Asus Striker II, Coolermaster GX 750w, E4600 @ 2.4Ghz, 2.5GB RAM, Zerotherm FZ 120, 9500GT 1GB
    Server: Mac mini running W23k Server - 1.8Ghz dual-core, 1GB RAM, 1x80GB, 2x500GB externals + LTO1 tape backup

    An important petition, regarding your human rights:
    https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...r-both-genders

  4. #4
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    I'm using the ubuntu installer for windows.

    http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/windows-installer

    Should I do a different type of install?

    My Hard drive configuration is setup as follows (per Manager)

    DISK 0: Intel 320 160GB SSD: Windows 7
    DISK 1: WD 250GB SATA: partition 1 139GB (Windows 8 developer) / partition 2: 93GB (Ubuntu) (doing right now)
    DISK 2: WD 500GB SATA: Installation files, drivers and updates/patches
    DISK 3: Seagate 1TB: MEDIA AUDIO/VIDEO files cubase, Acid 8.
    DISK 4: WD 1TB: partition 1 (500GB: documents/reference files)/ parition 2 (500GB: Random data transfer)
    Last edited by kujoe2002; 02-21-2012 at 11:14 AM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  5. #5
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    ooooo I like this ubuntu.. It's very nice.. Although I'm not too thrilled by the MAC OSX desktop interface.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  6. #6
    Mako Shark wh666-666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In a red kennel
    Posts
    4,577
    Quote Originally Posted by kujoe2002 View Post
    ooooo I like this ubuntu.. It's very nice.. Although I'm not too thrilled by the MAC OSX desktop interface.
    If you want something more windowy yet similar to ubuntu try Linus mint 9 (one Im using which is stable).

    I always use live discs, trying before installing.
    Last edited by wh666-666; 02-21-2012 at 11:50 AM.
    Compaq A910em: T2330 dual core 1.6Ghz, X3100 384MB GPU, 160GB sata HDD, 2GB RAM
    Gaming rig: Asus Striker II, Coolermaster GX 750w, E4600 @ 2.4Ghz, 2.5GB RAM, Zerotherm FZ 120, 9500GT 1GB
    Server: Mac mini running W23k Server - 1.8Ghz dual-core, 1GB RAM, 1x80GB, 2x500GB externals + LTO1 tape backup

    An important petition, regarding your human rights:
    https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...r-both-genders

  7. #7
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    Quote Originally Posted by wh666-666 View Post
    If you want something more windowy yet similar to ubuntu try Linus mint 9 (one Im using which is stable).

    I always use live discs, trying before installing.

    I read this: http://www.linuxtoday.com/infrastruc...61700639OPSWUB

    and it seems like Linux mint is the same as Ubuntu. I think that using the the windows GUI mods will resolve the issue.

    Any real benefits to using mint over ubuntu?


    And a really crazy thought, what about instaling ubuntu AND mint?
    Last edited by kujoe2002; 02-21-2012 at 01:43 PM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  8. #8
    Mako Shark wh666-666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In a red kennel
    Posts
    4,577
    It is very very similar, however when you scratch the surface, there are some differences. Mint does have a release based on debian btw instead of fedora, just incase you're a debian fan. I just prefer Mint, or xubuntu but it's less compatible with hardware Ive tried it on. I usually hate distros using gnome, so Mint is a rare exception.

    You can always install two or more distros at a time. Im unsure if there is any theoretical limit to the number of OS's in win/grub boot files, but I havent run in to it.

    If you can though, always try to get live dics instead of win installers. Lets you try it out a bit and see if you like the environment. Everyones tastes vary.

    I used to like dreamlinux, but they started screwing around with it and Im not a great fan now.
    Last edited by wh666-666; 02-21-2012 at 06:46 PM.
    Compaq A910em: T2330 dual core 1.6Ghz, X3100 384MB GPU, 160GB sata HDD, 2GB RAM
    Gaming rig: Asus Striker II, Coolermaster GX 750w, E4600 @ 2.4Ghz, 2.5GB RAM, Zerotherm FZ 120, 9500GT 1GB
    Server: Mac mini running W23k Server - 1.8Ghz dual-core, 1GB RAM, 1x80GB, 2x500GB externals + LTO1 tape backup

    An important petition, regarding your human rights:
    https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...r-both-genders

  9. #9
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    well now I have 4 OS's installed (2x Windows and 2x Linux)

    However, how can I configure it so that I get the boot selection option in the bios?

    DISK 0: Intel 320 160GB SSD: Windows 7
    DISK 1: WD 250GB SATA: partition 1: 139GB (Windows 8 developer) / partition 2: 43GB (Ubuntu) / parition 3 and 4: 54GB(Linux Mint)



    When I installed Windows Dev and even Ubuntu, the bios screen automatically put the different boot options. So in the past when I started the computer, I would get on the bios screen:

    please make your selection:

    Windows 7
    Window 8
    Ubuntu.

    And this would let me pick any OS I wanted to boot with. For some reason Mint did not set this up automatically..

    Thoughts?
    Last edited by kujoe2002; 02-22-2012 at 12:23 AM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  10. #10
    Mako Shark wh666-666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In a red kennel
    Posts
    4,577
    When i get home I'll find a screenshot but there is an option to tick saying something like use grub bootloader which might not have been ticked. If it is still using a win bootloader but doesn't list mint, you can boot from the last installed win os disc and do a fixboot and fixmbr. That should solve it, if not adding it to the boot.ini manually would work. A screenshot/pic would be helpful.
    Compaq A910em: T2330 dual core 1.6Ghz, X3100 384MB GPU, 160GB sata HDD, 2GB RAM
    Gaming rig: Asus Striker II, Coolermaster GX 750w, E4600 @ 2.4Ghz, 2.5GB RAM, Zerotherm FZ 120, 9500GT 1GB
    Server: Mac mini running W23k Server - 1.8Ghz dual-core, 1GB RAM, 1x80GB, 2x500GB externals + LTO1 tape backup

    An important petition, regarding your human rights:
    https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitio...r-both-genders

  11. #11
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    well also, I was reading in another site. When I created the partition for MINT, it setup as OXL 4 or something. There were versions 2, 3 and 4. Will that cause a problem? I'm going to try to load via mint and see if it works

    update:

    when I tried running the mint4win setup in windows 7 it asked me if I really wanted to uninstall ubuntu.

    I tried gettin XOSL:

    http://www.ranish.com/part/

    but it's giving me problems with installation
    Last edited by kujoe2002; 02-22-2012 at 12:42 PM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  12. #12
    Mako Shark Nemesys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    First Coast, Florida
    Posts
    3,876
    Maybe it's just me, but I like to keep things simple.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817994074

    I use the ICY DOCK mounted rack to swap out OS hard drives as needed.
    Storage gard drives stay mounted internally and is accessible by whatever the OS on the mounted hard drive.
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe CPU: Intel Sandy Bridge 2600K 3.4GHz @ 5.0GHz (Coolermaster V8 Cooler) RAM: 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 PC12800 Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX460 Sound Card: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio Monitor: HP 2711x (27 LED) SSD: 120GB OCZ Vertex 4 PSU: Silverstone Strider Plus 1000W

  13. #13
    Hammerhead Shark Geforce255's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona , CA
    Posts
    1,961
    I have 7 boot options on the machine I'm on right now, including Mint and Ubuntu 11. There doesn't seem to be a limitation to the number of bootable OS's allowed. I should kill off Vista, but it isn't worth the hassle.
    RIG:
    XCLIO 2000 Black & Titanium Case
    KingWin Gold Certified 80+ 1000 Watt PS
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium Motherboard
    Intel Core I7 3770K @ 5.0 gHz
    Corsair CWCH70 Hydro Series H80 CPU Liquid Cooler
    CORSAIR Vengence 16GB
    PowerColor Radeon 7990 6GB
    OCZ Vertex 3 SATA 3 SSD
    1TB WD Black Edition SATA 3 + 3TB Seagate SATA 3
    Panasonic DVD
    Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 bit

  14. #14
    Hammerhead Shark Geforce255's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Corona , CA
    Posts
    1,961
    Quote Originally Posted by kujoe2002 View Post
    ooooo I like this ubuntu.. It's very nice.. Although I'm not too thrilled by the MAC OSX desktop interface.
    Unity?

    It's nice, but still vastly inferior to Aero-Glass. The only issue I have is that it's sluggish. Mint "pops," Ubuntu 11 sort of "saunters." Over all though, neither distro really gives me any reason to stray from Windows. The Aero interface is still years ahead of Gnome or Unity.
    RIG:
    XCLIO 2000 Black & Titanium Case
    KingWin Gold Certified 80+ 1000 Watt PS
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium Motherboard
    Intel Core I7 3770K @ 5.0 gHz
    Corsair CWCH70 Hydro Series H80 CPU Liquid Cooler
    CORSAIR Vengence 16GB
    PowerColor Radeon 7990 6GB
    OCZ Vertex 3 SATA 3 SSD
    1TB WD Black Edition SATA 3 + 3TB Seagate SATA 3
    Panasonic DVD
    Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •