Upgrading

Sharky Forums


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Upgrading

  1. #1
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344

    Upgrading

    It's been 3 years since I've done a serious upgrade to my PC and I will have $400 budget to upgrade. I noticed my graphics card is the one light side now-a-days and I have a hatred for ATI products now (have had 2 ATI cards all with issues) so I'd like to switch to a Nvidia card thinking a GTX 670

    Here are the current specs

    i7 930 CPU @ 3.2 Ghz
    UD3R Gigabtye X58 Mobo
    6 Gig Ram
    5870 GPU 1GB
    4.5 TB
    50 Gig SSD

    I was thinking this one:

    http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Dual-Link...ywords=GTX+670

    What do you guys think?

    My theory is this:

    1. My CPU is fine, I can overclock more if I need too (it's water cooled)
    2. My Mobo is fine
    3. 6 gigs of ram is enough
    4. Don't need any more HDD
    5. SSDs are expensive still.

    GPU needs work. Do you agree with my thinking?
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  2. #2
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    I agree somewhat. I would say get the MSI GTX 660: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127696 and get some more RAM. You have plenty of CPU power and the rest of your rig is pretty good - except your vid card and RAM. I have the GTX 570 and am plenty happy with it.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  3. #3
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    Really? 6 gigs isn't enough? But ram is super cheap though. I can buy another 6 gigs for $60 at anytime.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  4. #4
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    Basically so you know my budget is confined to my credit card rewards program. Come the 9th they are going give me a bunch of bonus points and I'm going use those points for this upgrade.

    But I have a few more points then what I expected. So I'm thinking I'll go with this ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231225 (already own it, currently in my rig) and I'll then have 12 gigs.

    Also I'm thinking hte 7970 OC GPU is a better choice then a 670 GTX? I know my hate for ATI but if they got the best, then they got the best.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  5. #5
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    Quote Originally Posted by Nik00117 View Post
    Basically so you know my budget is confined to my credit card rewards program. Come the 9th they are going give me a bunch of bonus points and I'm going use those points for this upgrade.

    But I have a few more points then what I expected. So I'm thinking I'll go with this ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231225 (already own it, currently in my rig) and I'll then have 12 gigs.

    Also I'm thinking hte 7970 OC GPU is a better choice then a 670 GTX? I know my hate for ATI but if they got the best, then they got the best.
    If that's your RAM, then getting 6 more gigs is really cheap. Almost like a no brainer. As for GFX cards, I am a die hard Nvidia fan. I left ATI decade ago because of their horrendous support for their hardware and drivers. I'm sporting a GTX 570 and I'll probably get another one and SLI those suckers in another year.

    But you're going to run into a problem with the RAM. Per your mobo:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128375

    You only have 4 slots. So if you are currently using the kit you mentioned 3x2GB, then you will have to replace all the RAM (or add another stick). Your maxium is 16GB. I'd say buy 2x8GB DDR 3. This way if long term down the road you want to get a mobo that supports more, you can get an additional 2x8GB for 32GB total. I like to think long term which is why now I buy 8GB sticks only.

    http://download1.gigabyte.ru/manual/...x58-ud3r_e.pdf (page 16) shows how they want you to configure dual chann ram.
    Last edited by kujoe2002; 01-30-2013 at 05:14 PM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  6. #6
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    That's not mobo, here it is: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128423

    It has 6 slots.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  7. #7
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    I see. Then yea. Another 3 will be cheap.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  8. #8
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    I decided to wait for GTX 7XX series and instead bought a 250 gig SSD (got one for $150) and 6 gigs of ram.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  9. #9
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    Installed my SSD last night along with an extra 6 gigs of ram...My computer is a bit faster I also overclocked a little bit more.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  10. #10
    Post Nuclear Moderator Wurm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Grafenwöhr / Deutschland
    Posts
    10,757
    Quote Originally Posted by Nik00117 View Post
    Installed my SSD last night along with an extra 6 gigs of ram...My computer is a bit faster I also overclocked a little bit more.
    Make sure to follow all the SSD tips out there to really see an improvement, I suggest the OCZ forums and their SSD guide, its very good.
    War... War never changes.

  11. #11
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    My customer is significantly faster since install the SSD, esp in game launching etc.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  12. #12
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    Quote Originally Posted by Nik00117 View Post
    My customer is significantly faster since install the SSD, esp in game launching etc.
    yea games launch must faster with the RAM. Try running planetside on 6, then with 12.. BIG difference.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  13. #13
    Reef Shark Nik00117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    344
    I think the SSD makes a big difference too.
    Rigs
    Custom Built: Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 Ghz, 5870 GPU, 12 GIG Ram,3x1.5 TBs,1x500 GB, 250 GB SSD Logitech G51 surrond sound 27 inch monitor FUll Tower Cooler Master Case
    Laptop: M17X 2.83Ghz Dual Core, 4870 GPU, 4 GIG Ram, 320 GIG, 500 GIG HDD
    Get around Lappy: ASUS Aspire One: 1.6 GHz, IGP, 1 GIG ram, 160 GIG HDD

  14. #14
    Hammerhead Shark
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,342
    Quote Originally Posted by Nik00117 View Post
    I think the SSD makes a big difference too.
    That as well. Any super load heavy games I put on my SSD. All others are placed on my 7200RPM.

    MOBO: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU: i7-2700K @3.5 ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    CPU COOLING:Corsair Hydro H80i
    VIDEO: MSI TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 OC N760 in SLI
    HDD: Intel 320-160GB SSD
    HDD: Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    MEDIA: Plextor Dual DVD
    PSU: CORSAIR HX750W
    CASE: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Full Tower
    OS: WIN 7
    10 x64 Home Premium
    Monitor: AOC ,32" curved 1440p

  15. #15
    Tiger Shark PDR60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Oakland Tn USA
    Posts
    732
    Quote Originally Posted by kujoe2002 View Post
    That as well. Any super load heavy games I put on my SSD. All others are placed on my 7200RPM.
    I haven't tried putting any games an ssd yet. I'd have to get another one and I am very satisfied with the load times on games, so maybe in the future. That 7xx card will certainly be sweet. I have been running Nvidia since Half-Life 1 and back then its was STB that had the king of cards. That card is still running in my vmware rig. Being Windoze free since 2005 has been a fun way to game. I can get anything that I want to play running without too much trouble. The boot ssd has made a considerable improvement in boot times. I'm currently running a Gigabyte 550ti and its super. Not a single problem. The addition of RAM nowadays is pretty much a no brainer and its pretty cheap. The video card......not so much. Let us know how the new card performs when you get it.
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA UD3 3.6x4 | 16gig Ram | Nvidia GTX550-TI | 60Gig SSD | running Kubuntu 64 bit
    www.linuxloader.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •